Just click at the pictures to enlarge them.             Deutsche Version

In April of 2011 Jayne and I flew from Portland, Oregon to Mexico City. It was a business trip for me, but we wanted to explore the city and the area together. It turned out that the machines I was supposed to install were stuck in customs. Therefore it was like a week of vacation, until my boss finally ordered me back. We visited several quarters of Mexico City, did day trips to Teotihuacan and Cholula/Puebla. Later I came back alone, again for business, for 3 weeks and visited more sites on the weekends, like Tula de Allende, Cuicuilco and Xochicalco.

 

 

Find more about Weather in Mexico City, MX

 

 

Mexico?
Mexico? I thought I was in Mexico! (The locals say Mexico when they mean the city)

 

 

 

General Info

Mexico City is a huge city, for the city alone one should plan on at lest 3-4 days. It is worth a trip at any time of the year. One can't see everything in 3-4 days, there is just so much to see. Just for the anthropologic museum one needs a full day.

Spring is the best time to visit Mexico in my opinion. April and May are the hottest month, but summer is the rain season, and in winter  it gets cold even in Mexico (the city is above 2500 m / 7000 feet).

Travel guide: Lonely Planet Mexico

Getting there:
Nearly all large airlines fly to Mexico City. From the airport one can take a taxi for about 150 Pesos/15 USD to downtown. For a taxi one first has to by a ticket at a booth outside the airport building, then one hands the ticket to the taxi driver. He doesn't get any money other than a tip.

Safety:
As in all tourist places one has to be aware of pickpockets, other than that Mexico City is quite safe. The 'drug war' happens mostly at the border region to the USA.

Language:
Mexico is tourist oriented, but by far not everybody speaks English, especially outside the city. The locals are very friendly and try to be helpful, therefore one usually ca get by with hand signals if one doesn't speak Spanish.

 

Monument of the Revolution
The Monument of the Revolution was just reopened after a complete renovation.

Monument of the Revolution

monument
Many monuments here look somehow Russian, or at least communist.

The court yard of the Anthropological Museums has a water fall, which lowers the temperature a little.

Anthropological Museum in Mexico City

Anthropological Museum in Mexico City
The Anthropological Museum has many excellent exhibition objects.

Anthropological Museum in Mexico City

Anthropological Museum in Mexico City
There are also some models and reproductions at the Anthropological Museum. They make it easier to imagine what the pyramids and ruins used to look like.

Anthropological Museum in Mexico City

Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.             English version

Im April 2011 flogen Jayne und ich von Portland, Oregon nach Mexiko Stadt. Es war eine Geschäftsreise für mich, aber wir wollten uns die Stadt und Umgebung zusammen ansehen. Es stellte sich heraus, dass die Maschinen, die ich installieren sollte im Zoll hingen. Somit war es eigentlich eine Woche Urlaub, bis der Chef mich dann zurückrief. Wir sahen uns Teile der Stadt an, machten Ausflüge nach Teotihuacan und Cholula/Puebla. Ich kam dann später alleine zurück, wieder beruflich, für 3 Wochen, und sah mir an den Wochenenden Sehenswürdigkeiten an, wie Tula de Allende und Xochicalco.

 

 

Find more about Weather in Mexico City, MX

 

 

Mexico?
Mexico? Ich dachte ich bin in Mexiko! (Die Einheimischen sagen Mexico wenn Sie die Stadt meinen)

 

 

 

Allgemeine Infos

Mexiko Stadt ist eine riesige Stadt, für die Stadt alleine sollte man sich mindestens 3-4 Tage Zeit nehmen. Sehenswert ist sie das ganze Jahr hindurch. In 3-4 Tagen kann man aber bei weitem nicht alles sehen, es gibt einfach soviel Interessantes. Allein für das anthropologische Museum benötigt man einen ganzen Tag.

Das Frühjahr ist unserer Meinung nach die beste Reisezeit für Mexiko. April und Mai sind zwar die heißesten Monate, aber im Sommer ist die Regenzeit, und im Winter ist es auch in Mexiko Stadt kalt und wechselhaft (die Stadt liegt auf über 2500m Höhe).

Reiseführer: Lonely Planet Mexiko (Deutsche Ausgabe)

Anreise:
Fast alle großen Fluggesellschaften fliegen Mexiko Stadt an. Vom Flughafen kann man für ca. 150 Pesos/10 Euro mit einem Taxi in die Innenstadt kommen. Für ein Taxi muss man erst an einem Stand außerhalb vom Flughafengebäude ein Ticket kaufen, das man dann dem Fahrer gibt. Der Fahrer bekommt dann kein Geld mehr, außer einem Trinkgeld.

Sicherheit:
Wie an eigentlich allen Touristenorten, muß man auch hier mit Taschendieben rechnen, ansonsten ist Mexiko Stadt aber recht sicher. Der aktuelle "Drogenkrieg" spielt sich hauptsächlich in der Grenzregion zu den USA ab. 

Sprache:
Mexiko ist zwar Touristenorientiert aber bei weitem nicht jeder spricht englisch, besonders außerhalb der Stadt. Die Leute sind aber durchweg freundlich und hilfsbereit, daher kommt man auch ohne Spanischkenntnisse mit Handzeichen gut zurecht.

 

Monument der Revolution
Das Monument der Revolution wurde gerade nach einer komplette Sanierung wieder eröffnet.

Monument der Revolution

Monument
Viele Monumente hier sehen sehr russisch aus, oder zumindest kommunistisch.

Der Innenhof des Anthropologischen Museums hat einen Wasserfall, was die Temperatur etwas runterbringt.

Anthropologischen Museums

Anthropologischen Museums Mexico City
Das Anthropologische Museum hat viele sehenswerte Ausstellungsstücke.

Anthropologischen Museums Mexico City

Anthropologischen Museums Mexico City
Auch einige Nachbauten und Modelle sind im Anthropologischen Museum zu sehen. Diese veranschaulich wie die Pyramiden und Ruinen einmal ausgesehen haben.

Anthropologischen Museums Mexico City